Daily Archives: July 5, 2009

Whose Independence Day?

bostonflag

I received a comment from a fellow named Roger who wanted to chastise me on this Independence Day.  I told him that my forefathers weren’t set free on this day.  He then says – my forefathers weren’t set free on this day   black entitlement “exactly my point”.

I just have to ask, were my forefathers set free on the 4th of July, 1776?  My forefathers are African American and one set are Native American.  I don’t recall as my forefathers one of which sat in slave quarters after being stolen from his homeland and forced to work for free building a nation that decided they needed  freedom but not for the blacks they held captive.

And the other sat on a reservation after being kicked off his god given land.  And the last time I was in history class I didn’t see any Native Americans celebrating Americas freedom from Britain.  In fact I didn’t see any blacks celebrating either.  Not unless you think that serving massa a glass of cold ice tea and picking cotton in the fields for free was a celebration.

This is a prime example of white privilege at it best or worst depending on how you see it.  This Roger feels that just because I am American I have to be in awe of the same holidays as everyone else whether or not it was intended for me or not.  I guess to him I have to celebrate HIS forefathers’ freedom. While he and people like him don’t know the date of and could care less when and if my forefathers’ became free.

He wants to claim that this is somehow black entitlement to say that my forefathers’ were not freed on this day in history.   This statement is extremely idiotic at best.  How is stating a FACT feeling entitled?  Maybe the one who feels entitled is Roger.  Isn’t he feeling entitled to expect that I celebrate a holiday that doesn’t have one iota of anything to do with me or mine?  Isn’t it entitlement that makes him believe that I don’t have any choice BUT to allow him and other white people dictate to me what holiday I will and won’t acknowledge?

No Roger MY forefathers’ Both African American nor the Native American were free to neither life, liberty nor the pursuit of happiness.  But now I am supposed to run around like this holiday was inclusive for ALL Americans.  You can talk of the progress or whatever, that does not negate the fact that this holiday is a commemoration of a day that WHITE people in this country were freed.  Everyone else could only dream.  I guess you can forget that but I can’t; and simply put I WON’T.

6 Comments

Filed under African American, American society, Black community, Propaganda, Racism