Naming Racism

Is it just me being angry right now or are people so freaking racist that they don’t even see the racist bull that they spew for themselves. I just had the displeasure of reading a Blog which was asking if the words listed were names of black women or names of diseases. Then when you call them on that blatant racist bull crap they will swear it was just a joke or how they were just poking fun at racism.

It isn’t funny to be racist in an attempt to show how funny racism is. Didn’t we have enough of the name game when our ancestors were dragged here in shackles and forced to take some jackass name thought up by some ignorant racist. I bet you none of the people in the picture above had a name that was reminiscent of the old country they hailed from.

This person and the stupid people commenting will undoubtedly say something such as this is why people are racist because those names just scream black girl. And whatever happened to people having the right to name their child whatever fit into THEIR racial background. Or is the only acceptable way to name a child is with the names provided by the white race? I personally will never name ANY of my children Charles or Amy. So now that I find those names unacceptable should my children be relegated to racism since white people such as that Blogger doesn’t like it?

This is just more proof that racism in the form of forced assimilation is being thrust down the throats of all non white people. We are not only now being subjected to racism we are being racially profiled based on our names. This is one more reason to believe that racism is alive and well just masquerading behind seemingly benign situations.

A recent study from the National Bureau of Economic Research concluded that a person with a distinctly African-American sounding name was almost 50% less likely to receive a job interview than a person with a more “traditional” name. This is the pathetic problems people have to deal with all the while people will explain that blacks are just not getting the job due to more qualified white people. So if by qualified they mean white sounding name then I guess they were right.

It seems to me that white people are getting racism down to a fine science. No longer are the days of getting a black person in the office to turn them down that is no only necessary when some uppity black actually gets smart and names their kid Justin Todd, then they will have to discount her during the interview. Of course this is OK since employers should have the right to hire whatever names sound good to them. At least this is the sentiment from a lot of the comments I get. That when a company is primarily white it is OK since the company should be able to hire whoever they feel like hiring.

Then you get the Uncle Cosby’s of the black world who feel that this is exactly what black people’s problems are. They would be getting jobs and educations if they would stop naming their kids Shaniqua and Kareem. This is just more line towing by blacks who feel that it is better to give in to the dominant culture than to maintain ones cultural heritage whether that encompasses names such as Shaniqua or Kareem.

Yet Bill says nothing about white people who name their kids crazy names such as Jet, Apple, Oceana, Kroy, Shaw, Riker, Lorelai, Brig, Kiana, Levi, Josta, Crispen, Cade, Lakelann, Tucker Zesa, Xchyler (skyler), Jayley, Keene, Shellbee, Daylen, Persaeus, Carson, Megli, Bravyck and Vida. All these stupid names were taken directly from a site called unique baby names. Except Apple and Jet who are well known celebrities kids names. Somehow white people naming their children something out of the ordinary for them has no drawbacks and doesn’t seem to affect ones ability to land that job interview and inevitably the job. So why do we tolerate being told that our names are just too silly not to be a joke?

38 Comments

Filed under African American, Black community, Black Culture, Black People, Racism, Rant

38 responses to “Naming Racism

  1. Pingback: Media Districts Entertainment Blog » Naming Racism

  2. OMG I’m famous!

    “they will swear it was just a joke ”
    I searched the comments for “joke”. You were the one who said it was a joke.

    Why must you insist on referring to common American names as “white names” ? They are English names and biblical names. America is a predominately Christian, English speaking country, and our names reflect such.

    Further, if you go looking for baby names from a site called “unique baby names” you’re bound to wind up with some strange ones.

    You never answered my question: Did you pass the quiz, or didn’t you? This is the 4th time I’ve asked. Makes it sound like you failed.

  3. Pingback: Apple » Blog Archive » Naming Racism

  4. Ok folks.
    From now on we only make fun of stupid names if they’re all in the same room together.

  5. What names are “common American names”? Where do those names originate from, the black, Hispanic or Asian communities? So let’s not play dumb. Why did you when posting your quiz refer to it as sistas or symptoms? If you didn’t intend to make the case that these were somehow black ethnic names then you would not have pushed the black angle.

    Also, when speaking of jokes you all were the ones that said you were just ragging on names. And as far as I knew “ragging” on names meant to be joking. Or is that not the case?

    About finding strange names is the point. You claim that your post was not intended to be about race yet I didn’t see any of those “unique” names used by predominantly white people included. Not to mention your play on the word “sistas”.

    I did not bother to take the stupid quiz. I was not interested in which names were or were not real. For one thing I have never in all my black life heard NOT ONE person with any of the so called ethnic names you found. So what was the point in bothering with that quiz?

    And if I go and take the quiz and fail, then what? That makes it OK to pick out supposedly black ethnic sounding names for your amusement quiz? The quiz was race oriented and now you want to back pedal. If you can’t stand behind your post then don’t post it.

    Thanks for the reply.

  6. Micky2,

    The problem is your unique name may be stupid to others. My unique name may be stupid to others. But it takes an intelligent person to realize that names just like looks are treasured by those who like them.

    Why do you all feel so empowered to say what is or isn’t stupid for names? That is my conundrum. Our ancestors had to deal with this double standard from day one when they were whipped as the movie Roots showed. Your name isn’t Kunta Kinte, it’s Toby.

    Give me a break.

  7. chris rock, eddie murphy, richard pryor, dave chapelle, lisa lampinelli, jeff foxworthy, mitch hedgeberg, george lopez, just to name a few. Is it all right for these people to make fun of ethnic groups. Because racism is not just about black people.

    This is a blog. A humor blog. Do atheist go into Christian’s blogs and rant about there not being a god. no. come on now. If you didn’t like what we were talking about you should of just left. come back tomorrow it will be on dumb rednecks from the south.

  8. It’s an opinion. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Opinions can’t be wrong or right. Bagel, has Jenice read this? I’m sure her opinion may be appreciated here. Also, google potato famine, small pox and the Emerald Island. My ancestors were stuck with that.

  9. Its just a matter of taste dude.
    People like tofu for all kinds of reasons.
    As a professional chef I think its nasty shit.
    Does it have purpose? Yes.
    Is it good for you? Yes
    Do I think its stupid ? Yeah.

    I have a feeling after all is said and done we will probably get along a little better. Because really…
    Dont blacks call black women sistas ?
    I’m willing to bet it implies that its a black woman without any derogatory connection ? Right ?

    Also, please dont tell me that you’ve never heard someones name and chuckled a little.

    Do you know how often I hear Mickey mouse jokes ?
    I am Danish, German, and Mahican.
    In Danish my name is Michael, but pronounced “Meekail”
    When I was three I immigrated here from Denmark and my name morphed to Mickey.
    Probably because of the strong ” Meee” sound in the pronounciation.
    Dude, I havnt gone off the deep end everytime someone makes fun of my name, yet.

    And like I said before at RR. If your name is such an impediment in your life you have the right to change it.
    Is there ignorance attached to name discrimination ?
    Of course there is.
    But when it really boils down to the bottom of the pot we are all just making fun of the sounds.
    Peace .

  10. Where do those names originate from
    Mainly from the Old Testament. Many common English names have their origin in the Hebrew language, others are based on Latin. The Romans empire was comprised of many races, including much of the African continent.

    If you didn’t intend to make the case that these were somehow black ethnic names then you would not have pushed the black angle.
    &
    That makes it OK to pick out supposedly black ethnic sounding names for your amusement quiz?
    As I stated in the first sentence of the post, I took those names from a babyname webpage touting “AFRICAN – AMERICAN BABY GIRL NAMES ”

    you all were the ones that said…
    Show me.

    You claim that your post was not intended to be about race
    When did I claim that? In fact, I claimed the opposite:

    Further, you don’t need to convince me this post seems racist. Look at the tags at the top. I categorized it as such when I wrote it.

    Posted in discrimination, health, humor, racism, satire by The Bagel of Everything on April 24th, 2008

    Note the picture at the bottom of the post admits that it’s wrong. Er…wong.

    The quiz was race oriented and now you want to back pedal.
    In what way am I back pedaling? Further, in what way did I claim the quiz wasn’t race oriented? I stand behind my post. I am, however, open minded. A compelling argument can possibly convince me to take it down. I’ve seen no such argument.

    Further, I’m impressed that you linked to the post in question, thereby trusting your readership to think for themselves. Oh, wait…you didn’t.

  11. Our ancestors had to deal with this double standard from day one when they were whipped as the movie Roots showed. Your name isn’t Kunta Kinte, it’s Toby.

    It’s a book too, you know.

    Also, pfft! Half of me is Irish (2nd generation American born), the other half is Mingo. We didn’t have it easy, either. How the Irish Became White by Noel Ignatiev is an enlightening read.

    Your name ain’t Soyechtowa, injun! It’s Logan!
    Have you ever read Logan’s Lament? Google it…it’s an amazing speech.

  12. Bagel,

    I don’t know what you are talking about with the “you were all the ones that said…” Please be more in depth.

    “We’re not racist, it has nothing to do with race and we don’t single anyone out.” That came from capricorn1966. That is where I was getting that you all intended this conversation to NOT be about race.

    Also, I understand that you got the information from the African American baby names etc. What I was saying is with the above statement of it not singling out a specific group. Then it just seemed that the post would have listed more sources of other races. But if you intended to only use African American then don’t be surprised that a person from that race will not find it as funny.

    No one is questioning who was in the Roman empire. The names in the bible were Jewish names that were re-written into English in the 17th century so the names are NOT true to the original. So the names are European which in turn is considered a Caucasian race, correct.

    The Wong comment I wasn’t sure where that fit in. Thanks for clarifying.

    Thanks for the reply.

  13. Capricorn1966,

    If you find what those comedians say then by all means write a post and rage against that racism. I rage against what bothers me. If you read my blog it has a theme. Children and racism against blacks. That is my forte.

    Also, I do know the history of the Irish and that is terrible as well. So if an Irish person here in America wants to name their child Shamus they should have the right without that child suffering undo racism because of it. And if they do then again by all means Blog about it.

    thanks for the reply.

  14. Micky2,

    You are probably right. You would not be the first person that I have had a difference with that we are now both frequent readers of each others Blogs.

    Thanks for the reply.

  15. Bagel,

    I know that Roots was “just” a book. Yet do you really think that our ancestors just decided to change their names when they didn’t even speak the language. Such atrocities were commonplace during slavery.

    Now if you were joking about that, OK you got me.

    Thanks for the reply.

  16. theblacksentinel,

    I know that Roots was “just” a book. Yet do you really think that our ancestors just decided to change their names when they didn’t even speak the language. Such atrocities were commonplace during slavery.

    Who said “just” a book? You said it was a movie; I said “It’s a book too, you know.” I was adding credibility to it, not taking from it. I’ve read it…have you? Further, forcibly changing someone’s name is unkind, but calling it an atrocity takes away from the true atrocities of slavery. Language can only go so far in describing the suffering of human beings. ‘Atrocity’ is one of our strongest words. Beatings, rape, and forced labor were atrocities. Do you mean to say calling someone by a different name is equivalent?

    I don’t know what you are talking about with the “you were all the ones that said…” Please be more in depth.

    I was quoting you. Do you forget your own words so quickly that I must quote entire paragraphs? That sort of poor memory would explain your misquoting of my and my readers’ words.

    So if an Irish person here in America wants to name their child Shamus they should have the right

    A person’s right to name their child anything they wish isn’t in question. However, the darker side of freedom is that others have the right to criticize such choices. The name Shamus doesn’t ring comfortably in my ears, but it is an ancient Celtic name. To the best of my knowledge, names like Laquanda are recently invented for their ‘uniqueness’.

    “We’re not racist, it has nothing to do with race and we don’t single anyone out.” That came from capricorn1966. That is where I was getting that you all intended this conversation to NOT be about race.

    Capricorn is an intelligent and respected participant at RR, but she doesn’t speak for the site. I think I know what she meant there, but it seems she misspoke. We make fun of everything hyperbolic and hypocritical. Sometimes that includes race relations. This includes groups to which my writers and I belong (predominatly, oversexed southern white trash.) Frankly, I write about racism because I find racists to be ridiculous to the point that they are satirizing themselves.

    “Then it just seemed that the post would have listed more sources of other races.

    I’ve not got the writing talent to include all the ridiculous concepts of mankind into one cohesive post. The post is a component of a 400 post blog. Think of it as a page in a book.

    The Wong comment I wasn’t sure where that fit in. Thanks for clarifying.

    Yeah…”That’s just wrong” is a running theme at RR.

    “The names in the bible were Jewish names that were re-written into English in the 17th century so the names are NOT true to the original. So the names are European which in turn is considered a Caucasian race, correct.”

    Um, what? Yeah, white folks invented English. That’s one way to look at it. Another way is that English is the official language of our nation, as well as many other nations — of all races. The names aren’t true to the original, in part, because the English alphabet doesn’t have the characters to spell them as they were originally written.

    I’m enjoying our discussion. However, if you’d like, I’ll leave you be and ask my readers to do the same. Just say the word. I’m proud of my readers for maintaing their composure and treating you with respect, even though your first contact with us was coming to RR and calling us “idiotic people “

  17. Bagel,

    I, me, yes “I” said it was just a BOOK. Yet I was trying to find out if you understood that the things DID happen. Those Africans were stripped of their names. That is where I was going. Don’t think that I am constantly trying to repeat your words. That is your method not mine. I try to go for meaning. Until someone (like yourself) makes it necessary to go for direct quotes.

    I am completely sure you were quoting me, but unlike you I don’t keep this stupid crap in my mind all day. I have other posts with other comments to field. I also have a life.

    See that is the problem with your “test” you seem to think that names such as Laquanda just came out of someones ass. Have you actually researched the name? I doubt it. For information only, those names Laquanda, Shaquanda are based on the African name Quanda (kwand-a) which means Companion. So I guess it wasn’t recently invented for uniqueness. I am pretty sure that a lot of others are based somewhere. Some probably NOT.

    You didn’t ask me if the person who answered me with a we’re not racist remark spoke for that site. I don’t know who is or isn’t an owner or writer of the Blog. I am just going by what I read. Anyway, you are entitled to your opinions on how funny the racists are. I personally don’t find humor with them, that is my opinion. So agree to disagree.

    400 post Blog, duly noted.

    I guess you haven’t done a lot of study on the bible. I am NOT a Christian myself but I do find the bible interesting. What I was trying to convey is that the bible (old testament) was originally written in Hebrew. The new testament in Greek. So my point is that when things are translated to another language they have to change names in order to work with the language. Names such as Joshua would be Y’hoshua, and Samuel being Sh’mu’el. These names would and are not considered European. Yet the first names are.

    So the names are NOT from the bible they are from a European translation turning all names gentile instead of Jew. Also, where is it stated in any law or constitution or anywhere that the “official language of our nation” is English. The fact that we conduct all of our business in English does not now mean that English speakers have the right to dictate what we name our children or the language we speak in our homes.

    Well the comments sounded rightfully idiotic to me. I apologize for that fact. You are right, I should not have been calling any of you idiots until after I was told I had the “victim mentality” which to me is offensive.

    Thanks for the reply.

  18. “Beatings, rape, and forced labor were atrocities. Do you mean to say calling someone by a different name is equivalent?”

    I would say that it is more of an atrocity cuz to this day we have to deal with our lost heritage. A name which comes from a common language is a great cultural “glue” if you will. Now, instead of our (Black Americans) culture starting from Africa it starts from slavery from the time we were stripped of our names and our language. Which I would think that make people’s “job” like Willie Lynch easier to turn us on each other. They knew this at the time. If it wasn’t important why do you think that cracker had to beat it out of Kunta… and why do you think it took so much for Kunta to give in?
    Apparently, cuz names and languages are important to a people.

    I just hate it when people from other cultures makes fun of us. We were forced in this situation… As a people try’n to find an identity away from the one that is incorrectly protrayed and “provided” by massa and his beneficiaries.

    Now, can you dig it?

    Love.

  19. Damien,

    That is so true. We have lost so much. It isn’t a thing for some person of European descent to do a search of their ancestors. Maybe it can be hard for some. But for 100% of African American’s, we can only search back to slaves and then the trail goes cold. Since those damn slave master’s didn’t keep records on which tribe or part of the African continent even, that they stole those people.

    We are truly a lost people. But it’s all fun and games. It should be each person’s right to make fun and joke about whatever they want. Which in essence is true. But, I am seriously waiting for the rape victim jokes or how about the 9/11 jokes. No one seems to find those funny, I wonder why?

    Thanks for the reply.

  20. I’ve got some awesomely funny 9/11 animated gifs. One shows a wii controller flying the plane, with the tagline “wii did 9/11”. The gag, since so many people around here seem to be humorless, is a satire of all the “____ did 9/11” conspiracies.

    You probably wouldn’t want to see them, though.

    Rape jokes are a tough sell, but I’ve heard a few good ones.

  21. We were raped, Sentinel…. Still get’n raped!!!

    They make fun of us they minimize our condition and laugh at it. That is why our issues get so damn marginalized… they just don’t take us serious… yet, they constantly say it’s our fault… in many ways it is but in more ways it’s theirs…
    What did Colin Powell tell G.W…. “You break it you bought it” It’s time for America to take ownership of slavery instead of just giving it lip service and at the same time “joking” about it. Cuz, when you “joke” about our names you “joke” about our heritage. Which isn’t so bright, the short term (500 years).

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again and again…

    What helps us helps us all!!

    sorry for the rant.

  22. No matter how noble or justfiable the parents feel about giving their kids these names why would you want to impose that on the kid ?
    Sure, the names have their lineage. but why would you want a name that sounds like a disease in an english speaking community ?

  23. Micky2,

    To say that parents are imposing a name would be assuming that the child is somehow opposed to a traditional name. How fair is it then to name you kid some traditional name? Maybe we shouldn’t name our kids, let them grow up and choose their own name? It is up to the parents how they wish to name their child. I don’t think that it matters what it sounds like.

    Children can be disgusted with their name even if it is as “traditional” as John. We can’t be assured that the kid won’t feel imposed upon with whatever name he is given.

    Thanks for the reply.

  24. Bagel,

    See that is my point what makes race so funny and easy to sell when rape isn’t? Because it offends that is the only thing. It is more offensive to offend a rape victim than a victim of racism. That is the hard truth.

    I personally wouldn’t find humor in 9/11 or rape and not because of the reasons you might think. I only used them because they seem to be hot buttons I know of.

    Thanks for the reply.

  25. Damien,

    Damn right. And we have been broken for a long time. People would be hard pressed to tell the victim of abuse that they are at fault for the condition they are in now. Yet we have been and are being abused and it doesn’t resonate. It is almost as if this model of abuse has become so commonplace and ingrained that it IS the norm.

    Shame that we are still the fodder of so much amusement. I suppose once a racial bully always a racial bully. In fact I think that Brotherpeacemaker did a post on racial bullying. I will have to check it out and post the link.

    Thanks for the reply.

  26. The Engineer

    Deplorable, despicable, so typical.

    For reference only, your readers may find the offensive link here:
    http://rationreality.com/2008/04/24/symptom-or-sista/

    Here is an excerpt:
    “Symptom, or Sista? ?
    It?s a game, and you can play!
    Some of these are from babynames.org’s list of African-American
    baby girl names, the remainder from Wikipedia’s list of medical
    symptoms. Can you tell which is which?…
    Amusia, Renell, Cachexia, Melea, Tachell, Somnolence, Hematuria, Koyana,
    Akathisia, Cyiarra, Bradykinesia, Pyrexia, Afyia, Malaise, Larhonda,
    Anhedonia, Gardenia, Lameshia, Acalculia, Dyspareunia, Tyneice, Ataxia,
    Cambria, Chorea, Wygenia, Desreta, Dystonia, Traneise, Akinesia, Mabinty,
    Melena, Jatoria, …”

    The picture of Black woman provocatively dressed in
    inappropriate attire and masquerading as some kind of medical
    professional is extremely racist, inexcusable, and in poor taste
    — very poor taste.

    I expected more decency from a Caucasian.

    On Tuesday, September 11, 2001, the United States of America
    experienced the worst attack on America. A good summary of
    events can be found here:
    http://www.9-11commission.gov/report/911Report_Exec.htm
    Here is an excerpt:
    “…More than 2,600 people died at the World Trade Center; 125 died
    at the Pentagon; 256 died on the four planes. The death toll
    surpassed that at Pearl Harbor in December 1941…”

    The Attacks of September 11, 2001 have lead to an intractable
    Second Iraq War during which over 4,000 soldiers have been killed.
    Please reference the following link:
    http://icasualties.org/oif/

    Rape is a felony criminal offense. The National Institute of
    Health has a good definition:
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/rape.html
    Here is an excerpt:
    “…Rape happens when a person has sex that he or she didn’t agree
    to. It includes intercourse in the vagina, anus or mouth.
    Sometimes it happens when one person forces another to have sex.
    Sometimes this involves violence. It can also happen when the
    victim can’t think clearly due to drugs or alcohol.

    Rape is a felony offense. This means it is one the worst crimes a
    person can commit. Rape can happen to men, women or children. It
    causes both physical and emotional harm. If you have been raped,
    it’s important to get away as fast as you can. Then call 911 or
    the police or get to the nearest hospital…”

    The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network,
    http://www.rainn.org/statistics
    has some statistics regarding sexual assault:
    “1 out of every 6 American women have been the victims of an
    attempted or completed rape in their lifetime (14.8% completed
    rape; 2.8% attempted rape).

    17.7 million American women have been victims of attempted or
    completed rape.

    9 of every 10 rape victims were female in 2003.

    While about 80% of all victims are white, minorities are somewhat
    more likely to be attacked.”

    “I’ve got some awesomely funny 9/11 animated gifs. One shows a
    wii controller flying the plane, with the tagline ”wii did 9/11”.
    The gag, since so many people around here seem to be humorless,
    is a satire of all the ”____ did 9/11” conspiracies.
    You probably wouldn’t want to see them, though.
    Rape jokes are a tough sell, but I’ve heard a few good ones.”
    — quotation of Caucasian female identifying herself as
    “The Bagel of Everything.”

    Based upon such a statement, I would summarily judge “The Bagel
    of Everything” as being incompetent and completely devoid of any
    credibility. There is absolutely and uncontestably nothing funny
    about the Attacks of September 11, 2001, and the subsequent
    Second Iraq War. There is absolutely and uncontestably nothing
    funny about the felonious act of rape. Her humorous stance on
    the 911 Attacks and on rape is egregious. We can completely
    discount all previous and present comments made by her. Simply
    stated, she must be mentally ill.

    Caucasians have now resorted to a new kind of terrorism — it is now
    called satire.

    Here are a few links regarding the new Caucasian Phenomenon of Satire:
    “Satire as Racial Backlash Against Asian Americans”
    http://www.modelminority.com/article1114.html
    “Jyllands-Posten Muhammad cartoons controversy”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jyllands-Posten_Muhammad_cartoons_controversy
    “Black People Love Us”
    http://www.blackpeopleloveus.com/

    Caucasians are now realizing how marginalized they are in areas
    of athletics and academics, and Caucasians are using their
    home-grown form of satire as a means of clinging to their culture.
    Mr. Obama said the truth well when referring to small-town voters
    as bitter over the economy and, because of that, they “cling to
    guns and religion.” Actually, I believe Caucasian Americans are
    clinging to racism, religion, and rifles, and there is nothing
    elitest about that observation — it is simply the truth.

    Thank you for listening.

  27. The Engineer

    Your picture for this topic inspired me to do some looking on the Internet.

    I found something very appalling, and I believe it may interest you and your readers.

    WARNING: the historical pictures shown on the following weblink are very disturbing.

    Here is link to the book, __Slavery By Another Name__
    Author: Douglas A. Blackmon
    Publisher: Doubleday, $29.95 (512p) ISBN 978-0-385-50625-0
    On Sale: March 25, 2008
    http://www.slaverybyanothername.com/index.php?section=13
    Here is an excerpt from the link:
    “The Age of Neo-Slavery

    In this groundbreaking historical expose, Douglas A. Blackmon brings to light one of the most shameful chapters in American history—when a cynical new form of slavery was resurrected from the ashes of the Civil War and re-imposed on hundreds of thousands of African-Americans until the dawn of World War II.

    Under laws enacted specifically to intimidate blacks, tens of thousands of African Americans were arbitrarily arrested, hit with outrageous fines, and charged for the costs of their own arrests. With no means to pay these ostensible “debts,” prisoners were sold as forced laborers to coal mines, lumber camps, brickyards, railroads, quarries and farm plantations. Thousands of other African Americans were simply seized by southern landowners and compelled into years of involuntary servitude. Government officials leased falsely imprisoned blacks to small-town entrepreneurs, provincial farmers, and dozens of corporations—including U.S. Steel Corp.—looking for cheap and abundant labor. Armies of “free” black men labored without compensation, were repeatedly bought and sold, and were forced through beatings and physical torture to do the bidding of white masters for decades after the official abolition of American slavery.

    The neoslavery system exploited legal loopholes and federal policies which discouraged prosecution of whites for continuing to hold black workers against their wills. As it poured millions of dollars into southern government treasuries, the new slavery also became a key instrument in the terrorization of African Americans seeking full participation in the U.S. political system.

    Based on a vast record of original documents and personal narratives, SLAVERY BY ANOTHER NAME unearths the lost stories of slaves and their descendants who journeyed into freedom after the Emancipation Proclamation and then back into the shadow of involuntary servitude. It also reveals the stories of those who fought unsuccessfully against the re-emergence of human labor trafficking, the modern companies that profited most from neoslavery, and the system’s final demise in the 1940s, partly due to fears of enemy propaganda about American racial abuse at the beginning of World War II.

    SLAVERY BY ANOTHER NAME is a moving, sobering account of a little-known crime against African Americans, and the insidious legacy of racism that reverberates today.”

    Here is link to a newstory about this book:
    http://www.ajc.com/metro/content/printedition/2008/04/20/slavery.html?cxntlid=inform_artr

    Thank you for listening.

  28. The Engineer,

    Thank you for both comments. Thanks so much for all the links. The Slavery By Another Name might be something that I will copy into the comment section for my post called “The New Slave Trade Alive And Well In New Orleans” Which talks about how prisoners are being used to supposedly work off their debt.

    When in actuality they are just being used as slave labor. In fact half of the people who were being worked had not even had a trial. So how can one work off a debt that we don’t even know they owe.

    Underhanded this mess is for sure.

    Thanks for the reply.

  29. I intended to leave ya’ll to it, but my wordpress dashboard keeps alerting me to new messages on this thread. I couldn’t pass this one up:

    I expected more decency from a Caucasian.
    &
    – quotation of Caucasian female identifying herself as “The Bagel of Everything.”

    Again, with the assuming I’m Caucasian!

    The picture of Black woman provocatively dressed in
    inappropriate attire and masquerading as some kind of medical
    professional is extremely racist, inexcusable, and in poor taste – very poor taste.

    I agree with the poor taste part. That’s kind of what I do. However, the racist part is questionable. Sexist, perhaps. The sultry nurse is a popular character in pornography. It was difficult to find one featuring a black lady. Try it yourself…google.image for “sexy nurse”.
    To me, the rarity of black nurse porn screams racism. Do pornographers not view black women to be capable of such an important role in the health care industry?

    IT’S A CONSPIRACY, I TELL YOU! A CONSPIRACY!

    So, let me ask you this. If we continue to satirize other aspects of the American and global culture, including our own pigeon-holes, but never again make mention of African-Americans, would that be better?
    Is it ok if we continue to trash Canada and China, crazy white women, Scientologists, anorexicswomen who lust after gay men, and the darkest evil the world has ever known, so long as none of those people happen to be black?

    I’m difficult to offend, but that idea is offensive to me. The African race is just as full of hypocrites and heroes as any other ethnicity.

    Or should we never ever even think of calling out anyone or any group on hypocrisy? Should we accept everything everyone does, without question?

    A bit of rude humor goes a long way toward winning people over. How many minds have you changed with all your outrage? Nearly ever comment I’ve seen on your blog are from those who agree with everything you say. Likely, they felt the same way before they ever ventured to your url. What good does it do to preach to the choir?
    I’ve changed quite a few minds with my intentionally over-the-top blog. Sometimes I have to be the bad cop to do it. Flies, honey, vinegar.

    I think we’re on the same side. Our methods differ. My method has proven itself successful.

  30. Bagel,

    The problem with these jokes are that they feed the stereotypical view that people ALREADY have about blacks. You are preaching to the choir as well. The people who find these jokes funny usually already believe that these stereotypes such as blacks name their kids any and everything.

    Or hey black people are thieves, shiftless and lazy and make jokes to that effect. These are how a lot of people, even those who claim NOT to be racist see black people. These are deep seeded stereotypes that have lingered since slavery. Do you really think that it is funny to keep sticking a knife in that wound?

    I do on many occasions talk with those who absolutely DO NOT agree with me. And we dialog about how we both feel on whatever subject. You must not have read back very far.

    Also, if you must know I am writing my blog to wake up or stimulate the minds of those who in my community need it. I am NOT trying to somehow change the minds or “convert” those of the dominant community. That is a waste of my time.

    I suppose one would think it is successful at opening others eyes to how easy it is to poke fun at those who are different. Remember the bully on the playground usually can quite easily rally everyone into picking on the low guy. It doesn’t take much.

    Thanks for the reply.

  31. The Engineer

    Well said, very well said, The Black Sentinel.

    For convenience, here is a link to a very good The Black Sentinel article entitled,
    “The Stupidest Guy I Ever Worked With”
    https://theblacksentinel.wordpress.com/2007/08/01/the-stupidest-guy-i-ever-worked-with/
    I made a comment in which I suggested that the guy in question must be suffering from some kind of Autism, for he completely lacked any kind of empathy for the victims and their progeny of Slavery.

    I believe The Black Sentinel is now dealing with another Autistic or Autistic-like, Caucasian or Caucasian-like, female or female-like person.

    He, she, or it completely lacks any empathy or understanding of context. The picture of the Black women in provocative attire and the presentation of text in question do combine into a rather racist context. In my opinion, the text alone is enough to be deemed racist. The picture adds to the racism.

    His, her, its diatribe regarding the Black nurse caricature is patronizing and is obfuscating her real intent: to disavow [feebly] over obvious racist material for which he, she, it has been caught presenting.

    He, she, it is not the most recent to do it.

    Here is Max Karson’s original article entitled,
    “If it’s war the Asians want…It’s war they” get,”
    and dated February 18, 2008:
    http://media.www.thecampuspress.com/media/storage/paper1098/news/2008/02/18/Opinion/If.Its.War.The.Asians.Want-3216954.shtml
    This article is racist and violent to the core. It is amazing that it was ever published.

    Max Karson also has a criminal history:
    http://media.www.thecampuspress.com/media/storage/paper1098/news/2007/04/19/News/the-Yeti.Arrested.For.Threatening.Comments-2853159.shtml
    http://www.dailycamera.com/news/2007/apr/20/students-return-to-class-after-max-karsons/
    From the Daily Camera article:
    “Let’s take him 100-percent seriously and give him zero tolerance,” the woman said. “We cannot afford another tragedy like this.”

    The University of Colorado made several statements:
    http://www.colorado.edu/news/reports/campuspress/
    Here is an excerpt from a statement from the weblink:
    “On behalf of the University of Colorado at Boulder, I want to apologize to the members of Colorado’s Asian and Asian-American communities for a satirical column written by a student columnist at the CU Campus Press – the Web-based student news outlet managed by the University of Colorado School of Journalism and Mass Communication. The column was a poor attempt at social satire laden with offensive references, stereotypes and hateful language. It was not properly labeled as either satire or commentary, and readers were left with the impression that the author spoke for the collective staff and leadership of the Campus Press, and perhaps even the University of Colorado.”

    For emphasis:
    “…The column was a poor attempt at social satire laden with offensive references, stereotypes and hateful language…”
    — quotation of Chancellor G.P. “Bud” Peterson (Feb. 20, 2008)

    “So, let me ask you this. If we continue to satirize other aspects of the American and global culture, including our own pigeon-holes, but never again make mention of African-Americans, would that be better?”
    — quotation of he, she, it identifying himself, herself, itself as “The Bagel of Everything”

    Stop the satire because Minorities have been, are, and continue to be targets of persecution perpetrated by Caucasians.

    History and current events show this.

    Remember this simple truth: Yours were, are, and shall be acts of aggression. Ours have been, are, and shall be self-defense.

    He, she, it does not understand simply because he, she, it is just another “Max Karson.”

    There is an old Chinese saying which loosely translated into English states, “Never argue with a insane person” (because it is futile to rationalize with an irrational person).

    Absent an apology from “The Bagel of Everything,” may I suggest to The Black Sentinel to cease arguing with “The Bagel of Everything.”

    Thank you for listening.

  32. RhondaCoca

    “Can you tell which is which?…
    Amusia, Renell, Cachexia, Melea, Tachell, Somnolence, Hematuria, Koyana,
    Akathisia, Cyiarra, Bradykinesia, Pyrexia, Afyia, Malaise, Larhonda,
    Anhedonia, Gardenia, Lameshia, Acalculia, Dyspareunia, Tyneice, Ataxia,
    Cambria, Chorea, Wygenia, Desreta, Dystonia, Traneise, Akinesia, Mabinty,
    Melena, Jatoria, …””

    Wow… Here I go:

    Melena= is the name of Obama’s oldest daughter and I think that it is a beautiful name.

    Gardenia= is the name of a flower/flowering plant

    Renell= is the name of a girl I used to live near

    I have heard some of the other names to and what is wrong with them?

    The ignorance is just spewing from all of this as is the prejudice. Its not cute at all. The fact that someone even went to go put that together says enough. People in this country love making fun of and lambasting black people and their culture with the sole purpose of making themselves feel good.

    I will name my children Becky, Brody, Emily or Peter and mabye everything will be fine since we are assimilated and your culture is oh so superior.

    “sista”, your obviously using that to be cute

    I have a great quote from the book, Drylongso:

    “The biggest difference between us and white folks is that we know when we are joking”

    The history of this country proves that when whites talk in a prejudice fashion, that they are not joking.

  33. 2 out of 3 ain’t bad!

    Melena refers to the tarry feces that are associated with gastrointestinal hemorrhage. The black color is caused by oxidation of the iron in hemoglobin during its passage through the ileum and colon.

    Malia is the name of Mr. Obama’s lovely daughter.

  34. RhondaCoca

    The Bagel of Everything,

    I realized that I mixed it up his daughters are Malia and Sasha (Natasha). I know! The point is that your little test thing is racially offensive and insensitive and mocking another one’s culture is disrespectful period. If you cannot get that through your thick skull then you are simply ignorant, narrow-minded and intolerant.

    You are masking your prejudice in comedy!

  35. RhondaCoca

    “Malia is the name of Mr. Obama’s lovely daughter.”

    Yea, I’m shocked that Malia was not on the list!! Right cause its sounds like a disease too right.

    There is nothing worse than white ignorance and arrogance. Nothing!

  36. I don’t know. I think black people capitulating and submitting to white ignorant and arrogance is far worse.

    Peace

  37. Quia,

    So freaking what!! I hear that from plenty of people who actually ARE racist. As it isn’t racist to point out racism. Why don’t you think about that for a minute. OOPS! That would require some actual thought. Anywho, your lucky I am feeling generous, because a stupid comment like this usually doesn’t even get a reply. So please go some where else where someone actually might care.

    You undoubtedly ARE the weakest link! Goodbye.

  38. Pingback: The world we live in « Sweet like Jazz

Leave a Reply

