Tragedy Stems From Stupidity

2nd-story-fall.jpg

As I was surfing the web last night I came across an article about a one year old baby girl who fell out of a window on the second story home of relatives. Teaira Steed’s one-year-old girl, Telea landed head first on the concrete 15 feet below cracking her head and fracturing her face. She was in a coma and took two weeks to come out of it. This is a parent’s worst nightmare, that your child is injured so badly you don’t even know if they will survive. Now I thought this is just horribly tragic, but as I read on I found out that the mother is now suing the person who owned the house as she was staying with relatives who rent. I then became disgusted as I read on.

The mother’s attorney claims that it is the property owner’s fault that the little girl fell from the window because the window had no bars or screens on it. Luckily the baby “seems” fine but who can tell until she is a bit older. Now I am not against suing if you are maligned, wronged, or injured by someone who was being in any way negligent. Because why should you be made to pay for someone else stupidity. But, that said, doesn’t it go both ways why is the property owner responsible for this tragic incident?

Wasn’t it the mothers own ignorance that this situation occurred? So why should the property owner pay for her ignorance of caring for a toddler? Now ordinarily I would be right there with the mother if the child had been left in the care of the property owner and this is what happened. But the child was in the care of her mother when it happened. My question is where in the hell was the mother that a one year old has the opportunity to fall out of a second story window?  I don’t care that the mother says she was in the room with other kids at the time, which does not excuse an adult’s supervision; in fact it increases the need for supervision. Not to mention, how the hell, did that baby reach the window, did the mother or other adults realize there were no bars or screens on the window.

Those are all just a few questions that need to be answered before I would bother to give this woman one dime of lawsuit booty. Because it sure sounds to me like the mother was extremely negligent. Why would you allow a one year old to be unsupervised by an adult or much older teen in a room with an open window that has no screen or bars. Also, how many times had she complained her family members who then complained to the property owner about getting these bars and screens?

Now I don’t even know this alderman who owns the property and surely can’t defend him nor convict his character. But, the mother is the one that should be paying the price for what has happened here. She knew that there was no protection on the window and still allowed for conditions to be in place which put a baby in a position to fall from that window. When are people going to start taking responsibility for their irresponsible actions?

Should we all get to sue for being stupid? Gee your honor I sure did know that there was no screens or bars on the window before letting my one year old play in that room before she fell. But you see, she has played in there before and not fallen out the window, so I thought it was safe. But, it’s not my fault I shouldn’t be compelled to actually have to supervise my children, the property owner should have done something so my baby wouldn’t have gotten hurt. I want to sue, can’t I just add my role in this up to ignorance. When did we become such an ignorant bunch of sue happy fiends? No matter what happens it is never my fault always someone else’s and so I have to be paid.

Maybe it’s just me and I am being way too hard on this lady. But, stupidity just rubs me the wrong way. I can not stand to see people use their stupidity for gain and every time I think of this it makes me think back to the McDonalds lawsuit with the coffee. I am too stupid to realize that coffee is hot so I am going to put it between my legs, squeeze it, then get burned and sue about it. Maybe they forced her to put the coffee between her legs the same as the property owner Charles Quincy Troupe, a St. Louis alderman forced this lady to be inattentive to her toddler playing near an unscreened, unbarred open window unsupervised. She is just lucky I am not on the jury, but like I said already, maybe I am just being too hard on her. Maybe I need to be less responsible for my children so that I can sue people too.

9 Comments

Filed under African American, Black community, Black Family, Black People, Charles Quincy Troupe, child neglect, Children, Current Events, Interesting, Personal, Random Thoughts, Rant, Responsibility, Society, St. Louis, Stupid, Teaira Steed, Thoughts

9 responses to “Tragedy Stems From Stupidity

  1. kelly

    Now imagine being in the midst of this tragedy and it happening to your own child, you would want to blame someone, the guilt that would overcome a parent whose child is harmed is immense and traumatic in itself. It’s part of the grief process to blame and deny. A natural human function. Frankly, she won’t get any money, because children have fallen out of windows before and so it would be an insurance requirement or a city inspection requirement that bars are placed on upper story windows.Property owners are not duty bound to add screens, in fact it is a st louis city ordinance to either have functioning screens in all your windows or none at all. That is how it is, I guess it’s prettier that way. But it still is no one’s fault necessarily, certainly not the property owner’s. I think the way in which children are supervised or the lack thereof is taught to us by our own upbringing and so learn from those standards in raising their own children. I think that calling it ignorance ignores the differences in the way people live. Yeah, I believe children should be revered and protected, but I also think that not everyone was revered and protected as children and so live in different circumstances and standards.

    Not to mention, horrible tragedies occur everyday, it’s part our existence. I do find this instance to be sad, but I also think about the other preventable deaths of children all over the world.

  2. theblacksentinel

    I too agree that horrible tragedies happen every minute I am sure. But since we can not know about each and every case, we can only deal with the ones that catches our eye and make our decisions about it. I am horrified at what happened to that baby, this same type of incident happened to my nephew and my sister wanted to sue. Her situation was a fall from 3 stories off a balcony. She did not get to sue, as it was her own stupid fault. Lets just say she has issues and I know that our parents didn’t raise us in this manner.

    I do agree that we are all harboring some of the ways of our parents. And she may have been raised in this same lackadaisical manner but just like the child raised by high school dropouts, you either continue which is stupidity or you make a change. So as I see it she made the choice, to be lackadaisical with her own child. Now with my sister she was not raised to be so ignorant with her child, so it seems that we all have to make our own choices in the end.

    Now the grief process is different for everyone and I agree with you that some like to blame external causes for the ills that befall them. She is obviously one of them, but I still find it ridiculous that others such as the attorney will humor her by helping her with this lawsuit.

    Thank you for the information on the screen/bar issue as I didn’t have any info on the laws there.

    Thanks for visiting and the reply

  3. Really excellent.Thanks for all.

  4. Teaira (mother of child)

    FIRST OF ALL THE WINDOWS WAS NOT LEFT OPEN. FOR YOU TO DO SO MUCH RESEARCH ON THE CASE YOU HAVE NOT DONE ANY ON ME TO JUDGE ME AS A MOTHER TO MY CHILDREN. MY LITTLE COUSIN OPENED A WINDOW FOR SOME ODD REASON. DUE TO THE WINDOWS HAVING NOTHING ON THEM MY FAMILY AND I NEVER RASIED THEM UP, MY GRANDFATHER BANNED OPENING WINDOWS IN HIS HOUSE. AS I TOLD MANY PEOPLE I WAS IN ANOTHER ROOM NEXT TO MY DAUGHTER ROOM, CHANGING MY OTHER CHILD PAMPER. LET ME TELL YOU A LITTLE ABOUT ME SINCE YOU WANT TO BLAST ON ME. I AM A YOUNG MOTHER OF FOUR CHILDREN AT THE TIME OF THE INICIDENT I WAS A FULL TIME STUDENT AT ITT TECH FOR MY BACHOLAR DEGREE IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE.

    WHEN MY DAUGHTER FELL OUT THAT WINDOW MY THOUGHTS WAS NOT TO SUE THE LANDLORD BUT WILL TALEA LIVE. THE WHOLE TIME MY DAUGHTER WAS IN THE COMO I DID NOT SLEEP I NERVER LEFT THAT ROOM. WHEN I DID SLEEP, MY DAUGHTER WAS IN MY ARMS. NOW I ASK YOU TO PLEASE RESEARCH WHAT HAPPEN. THE REAL STORY, BEFORE YOU JUDGE ME AGAIN. I’M SURE YOU KNOW THE NUMBER ONE RULE IN RESEARCH IS TO GET YOUR STORY FROM THE FIRST OR SECOND SOURCE WHICH YOU DID NOT AND I WILL APPRACIATE THAT YOU TAKE THIS WEB PAGE DOWN ABOUT ME AND MY DAUGHTER.

  5. Teaira,

    First of all let me give condolences on your daughters tragic accident. And to ask if she is all right? Next I don’t have to take the story down since it isn’t a news report, it is completely opinion. You are absolutely correct I didn’t go and get the story as I am NOT a reporter. Reporters went and got the story. And I read your side of the story, unless there was something that they didn’t cover wouldn’t that be your job to make sure that is included.

    Being a full time mother in school with young children isn’t new, I have done that myself. You hear all types of excuses as to why a child is injured without a parent being there. I understand having to change diapers and the children are playing, but who is ultimately responsible for those children? Who is the one that has the ultimate duty to ensure the safety of those children while in YOUR home, regardless if the home is owned by someone else? The problem is that even with screens on the windows a child can fall out the window. The screen can pop right out, those things weren’t made for stopping people from falling out of windows they are made to stop bugs and other pests from getting in.

    Also, it was your attorney who said that the fault belonged on the home owner for NOT having bars or screens in the windows as if that would have prevented an accident. When in most cases adult supervision would have been an even better way to prevent an accident. I am sorry for your child’s horrible accident but the fault lies squarely with you not with someone who isn’t charged with taking care of the child.

    You claim that a lawsuit wasn’t your first thought and I believe that. I too did not sleep one wink that my son was in the hospital. I can sympathize with you wholeheartedly. But, after the fact who or what convinced you that you even had an inkling of a case to sue someone because your unsupervised child fell out of a window in a home YOU were renting? As far as I am concerned you haven’t said anything that shows me and hopefully anyone else how you are NOT responsible for the accident that occurred.

    So, unfortunately I will absolutely NOT take this post down and if you had anything to add in order to further the understanding of the occurrences you would have done so. So if you feel so inclined you can absolutely state what you feel is not right about the post. Good luck to you, your daughter and the rest of your family.

    Thanks for the reply.

  6. On the issue of suing people, rightly or wrongly, I think points to an over-litigiousness attitude in our society. You get one accident, and no longer can anything be an accident, it always has to be someone’s fault.
    I feel bad for the mother that her daughter went through this ordeal. And I personally feel that some lawyer saw this as an opportunity and used their slick talking, emotionally appealing ways to take advantage of the mother in her weakened mental state to pursue an avenue toward getting his own little payday.
    I wouldn’t excuse the follow through of agreeing to litigation against the landlord, but those lawyers can be awfully convincing at times.

  7. Mike,

    I totally agree! Not everything is someone else’s fault. We have gone sue crazy. I feel bad as well, but if my son gets hurt doing something I know damn well he shouldn’t be doing especially if I wasn’t watching, then the fault lies squarely with me. He is too young to be responsible and I was negligent.

    And nine times out of ten it was some slick talking lawyer type that got her into a sue happy state. But there has to come a time when people see through that crap and understand that it wasn’t someone else’s fault.

    Thanks for the reply.

  8. One the main topics I keep getting back to on my site is “Personal Responsibility” (or lack thereof).

    I think it is about 50/50 on whether someone will default to blaming someone else for their actions. The edge comes when lawyers jump in and talk the person into believing they have a case (which they will because it is cheaper to settle out of court – even if you are right).

    “Suing” is probably second to “winning the lottery” in some peoples mind.

  9. Fred,

    I agree! It seems that personal responsibility is lacking a lot of the time. I don’t think that this story could be spinned in a way that I would ever understand how anyone but her was at fault. I am sorry about what happened but it is just outrageous the sue happy times we are in. I really hope they didn’t settle with her but, I bet they did as I never heard anything else about the case. And after people settle with these sue happy lawyers the irresponsible person is only rewarded in their ignorant thinking that someone is always to blame for their stupidity. GRRRRR!

    Thanks for the reply.

Leave a Reply

