Pimp My Brand

pimp_my_brand-779628.jpg

What is it about us African-Americans that we feel comfortable patronizing businesses and product brands that publicly or internally support, supply or sympathize with racism? I am constantly hearing about this or that company that one doesn’t make things for black consumers, two don’t appreciate it’s black consumer or worker and 3 just blatantly discriminates against us at every turn. I for one have decided in my life that it is not alright to give my money to these racist clowns.

A long while back when Gloria Vanderbilt stated that she designed her jeans to specifically fit a “white woman’s shape”, blacks couldn’t get to the store fast enough and squeeze into the racists pants. They became the got to have designer clothes, emblazoned with her name on the back pocket just screaming out to the world what an idiot the black wearer was, another designer who dismissed the dollars of the black community, Tommy Hilfiger who wished that his clothes line was not so closely associated with the hip hop community. Yet you could turn on MTV and see his name boldly displayed all over rap artists for the world to see.

Then there is Wal-Mart, now I know what people are saying right now “well if I can get it for cheap”, yep but what are the costs of this attitude. Wal-Mart could care less for the black community, they under pay us, won’t promote us, and won’t give us healthcare. The family was reared by the racist Sam Walton who had plenty of interesting things to say about blacks and the poor in general. Yet we will run to this horrible place in a heart beat. Six flags Magic Mountain who decides that blacks who work there aren’t supposed to wear their natural hair, since it is offensive. No braids or locks, do they tell whites they can’t have perms or mullets?

Then you have your Abercrombie & Fitch, CompUSA, Office Max, McDonald’s and a whole heap of others that can be added to the list. I just wonder if black people care what kind of message that we are sending these corporations etc. when we let them define us and then we continue to give them our hard earned money. It is almost like saying “I will pay you to treat me badly”. Hell, I understand that the list is so long we might not be doing any shopping. But, we could always start buying our own black made products.

Until we as a community get it together and stop with the non-caring, non-thinking attitude we will continue to be done wrong time and time again. I am not asking anyone to make any changes, adjustments or sacrifices that I wouldn’t be willing to make myself. But, we do need to do something as the situations are just getting worse. Now its things like our hair, tomorrow it what will it be?

2 Comments

Filed under African, African American, American society, Big Business, Black community, Black Culture, Black People, Bling, Community, Family values, Hot Topics, Integration, Life, Materialism, Minorities, Money Oriented, MTV, Personal, Propaganda, Racism, Random Thoughts, Rant, rants, Reality, Responsibility, Separate but equal, Social Issues, Society, Stupid, Subjugation, Teen issues, Teens, Thoughts, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pimp My Brand

  1. brotherpeacemaker

    It sounds good. And I really do agree with you. But how many black companies are truly doing their business for the benefit of the black community? If the example of FUBU is any indication, then the answer is a resounding none. For Us By Us should have been For Me Through You. When the original founders were offered millions of dollars for the label they took the offer and didn’t look back. Now what?

    The white community knows that they have the black community by our collective short hairs. They diss us not only because they don’t care, but it also shows their white community patrons just how much they are part of the white community as well.

    Peace

  2. theblacksentinel

    So true, but can’t I just hold on to my dream. Anyway, I could sooner convert a bunch of Klans men as well as I could a lot of blacks to this cause, that is how pathetic I feel the cohesiveness of the black community has become. I don’t have any belief that I will be able to see any great change in us anytime soon or at least in my lifetime. That is really too bad, but I am hoping to get through to at least a few.

    Thanks for the reply

Leave a Reply

